Delete your Google Account

Google Gmail

How do I delete an e-mail account or address?
Enter an alternate email address for your Google account. Before you delete your email account, create a backup of the email using a cloud-based email backup solution. You might need to sign in. Click the link in the email to verify your new address. Click the download your data link to keep your data. Not Helpful 5 Helpful 9. The email address will need to be verified, so make sure it's an account you can access.

Step 1: Learn what deleting your account means

How to Delete a Gmail Address Without Deleting an Account

Once the contact is deleted, the autocomplete in the to: Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site the association bonus does not count.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead? Questions Tags Users Badges Unanswered. Remove email address from suggestions in To field on Gmail. How do I tell Gmail to never show it to me again? Delete his email address from Other Contacts under Gmail Contacts.

Greg 1, 1 11 I have deleted the contact but when I go back to Gmail and type the first letter the name with the whole email address appear in the search box. I have an email that is! This wikiHow will teach how to delete your Google account, which will delete all of your Google data, or your Gmail account, which will just delete your Gmail address and data.

You can only delete your Google account from a web browser. Click Sign in if you aren't already. This button is in the upper-right corner. If you are signed in, double-check that you're signed in with the account you want to delete. When you're signed in, you'll see your Google account profile picture in the upper-right corner.

Click it to see which account is currently signed in. If you're signed in with the wrong account, click "Sign out" in the menu and then sign in with the correct one. Sign in with the account you want to delete. This step isn't necessary if you're already signed in with the right account. Click Delete your account or services. This can be found at the bottom of the "Account preferences" section on the right side of the page.

Click Delete Google Account and data. Enter your Google account password again if prompted. You may be prompted to sign in again before you can proceed. Review the content that will be deleted. You'll also be shown services you'll lose access to.

Click the download your data link to keep your data. This will take you to the Google Takeout page and walk you through the process of downloading an archive of your data. Scroll down and check the two Yes boxes.

This is the only confirmation you'll be giving for deleting your account. Your account will be marked for deletion, which will occur shortly after you click Delete Account. Once your account is deleted, you'll lose access to all Google products and data associated with it. Attempt to recover a deleted account. If you changed your mind or accidentally deleted the account, you have a short window of time to try to restore it: Click the "Try to restore account" link.

Enter the last password you used for the account. If you attempt to restore before your data is permanently deleted, you'll get your account back. You'll need to use a browser to delete your Gmail address. You'll see this button in the upper-right corner. If you're already signed in, make sure it's with the Gmail account you want to delete. When you're signed in, you'll see your current account's profile picture in the upper-right corner.

Click this and click "Sign out" to sign in with a different account. Sign in with the Gmail account you want to delete. You don't need to do this if you're already signed in with the correct account. Click the "Delete" button next to Gmail.

This button looks like a trashcan. Enter an alternate email address for your Google account. This will be the email address you use to sign into other Google products, such as Drive or YouTube. The email address will need to be verified, so make sure it's an account you can access.

Click Send Verification Email. Open the verification email from Google. It may take a few minutes to appear. Click the link in the email to verify your new address. When your new address is verified, your Gmail account will be permanently deleted.

What should I do if it says that my alternative email address is used? Contact support and explain what your problem is. It may take a bit of time, but they should be able to sort out the problem eventually. Not Helpful 4 Helpful If my account was hacked and I deleted that person, do I still have access to it?

This Gmail will be permanently deleted and the hacker will probably lose the Gmail account as well.

Video of the Day